Western Cape

Share this Article/Page

The Western Cape lies at the southernmost point of the African continent, washed by the Atlantic Ocean on its western shoreline and the Indian Ocean in the south. Its provincial neighbours are the Northern Cape to the north and Eastern Cape to the east. With a total area of 129 462 square kilometres, the Western Cape is roughly the size of Greece.

The provincial capital is Cape Town, an important port city and one of South Africa’s major tourist attractions, with its beautiful scenery, balmy climate, beaches and rich culture. Cape Town is South Africa’s legislative capital, home to the country’s parliament. Other important towns and cities are George in the southeast of the province, the winelands university town of Stellenbosch, and the port town of Saldanha on the west coast.